Kiffblog

August 8, 2013

The small things

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 9:08 am

Luke 5:3 Jesus got into the boat that belonged to Simon and asked him to row it out a little way from the shore. Then Jesus sat down in the boat to teach the crowd.

Heres’s an interesting thought: what if Simon had said no?  What if he had told Jesus to get out of his boat and find someone else to bother?  After all, here was a stranger trespassing on his property and not just claiming it for his own use but asking Simon to do the work for him.  It would have been very easy, and probably reasonable, for Simon to say no.  But he didn’t.  There was something in Jesus’ simple command, an unusual authority, that commanded obedience.  Following Jesus in the small things turned Simon the fisherman into Peter the Rock, church leader, Bible-writer, evangelist, miracle worker, martyr.  The quiet life became the extraordinary life.

What do I miss out on when I ignore those simple commands that I could so easily follow?  I don’t want to live second best because I didn’t obey You in the small things.  I want to live everything You have planned for me.

Lord forgive my disobedience.  I want to obey.  Let me hear Your voice

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

