Kiffblog

August 17, 2013

Disguised

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:44 pm

Romans 7:13 Am I saying that something good caused my death? Certainly not! It was sin that killed me by using something good. Now we can see how terrible and evil sin really is.

Paul presents the old law, the old covenant, as being “holy and correct and good”.  At the same time, he talks about how it leads to death because of sin.  Sin takes rules and nurtures a desire to break them.  The law was good but its purpose was corrupted by sin.

Just because something is at heart good it doesn’t mean sin can’t twist it.  Perfectly right desires can be twisted into idols.  Calling can become resented work.  What can start as serving You can end up serving me.  Satan is devious and will seek to turn good to evil, pure to corrupted, relationship to separation.  I need to be constantly on guard, checking myself that my motives remain true and in Your will.

Lord give me discernment to know when sin is lurking.  Help me to keep my eyes fixed firmly on You and not on the seemingly good things around me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

