Kiffblog

August 24, 2013

Criticism

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:04 am

Romans 4:4 What right do you have to criticize someone else’s servants? Only their Lord can decide if they are doing right, and the Lord will make sure that they do right.

Someone nearby is always doing something wrong.  I’ve been around the Church long enough to know that ‘it’s not right’.  If I ask anyone in a congregation they’ll tell me what needs changing to make things perfect and complain that no-one is doing it.  I try my hardest not to be the critic but it’s a hard desire to fight.  I try to be constructive and positive where I’m involved in ministry but as soon as I venture outside my usual environment I’m in judgement mode.  I like to say I’m evaluating, looking for things I can learn from, but a large part of it is looking down on the things done ‘wrong’.

There are some things I genuinely think are wrong and I’m encouraged in this chapter to think for myself and make up my own mind.  But there are many differences between churches and individuals that are just that: differences.  Different is not wrong.  It’s just something I’m not used to or don’t like as much as something else.  So much time is wasted on arguing against variety and criticising differences.  Paul hits it right on – I have absolutely no right to criticise someone else’s servant.  If someone is serving You in a different way to me, that’s not my concern.  If they’re doing Your work I need to encourage and help, even advise, but not force them into my way of doing things.

Lord forgive me for the many times I’ve sat back and criticised Your servants.  Give me an uncritical, encouraging spirit.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

