Kiffblog

March 15, 2014

Beyond the words

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:24 am

John 5:39 You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is they that bear witness about me, 40 yet you refuse to come to me that you may have life.

Reading the Bible is a good thing.  I’ve never doubted that, but it took me a long time to make it a regular habit. For the last four or five years it’s been a rare day when I haven’t read a few chapters as part of an annual plan – and I’ve always caught up when I missed a day.  The problem with this is that it’s a thing I can do, something to add to my to do list and then cross off when completed.  It can be something I use to make myself feel better: “I may not have done most things I should have done today, but at least I read the Bible”.

I don’t believe for one moment that reading the Bible is a bad thing.  Jesus didn’t challenge the people because they read the Scriptures, but because they didn’t come to him for life.  They preferred to read about the Messiah than recognise who was right in front of them.  Reading was more important than relationship.

I don’t want to be someone who reads the Bible just because it’s a ‘good thing’.  I know it is Your words and it is the most valuable book that will ever exist.  But I don’t want to stop at the words.  I want to keep looking beyond them to the One they point to.

Lord, let me never read Your words without getting to know You better.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

