Kiffblog

April 8, 2014

But I

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:28 pm

Psalm 13:5 But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.

This psalm can read like a case of multiple personalities.  The first four verses are written by David the doubter, wondering why God has abandoned him.  The last two verses are by dancing David, full of praise and always with a song on his lips.  What causes this abrupt shift in outlook?  Was there a reversal of his situation, where suddenly everything changed for the better?  I don’t see it.  Did You speak audibly to him or make Your presence known in a tangible way?  There’s no suggestion that You did.  From what I read, the David of the last two verses still has exactly the same problems as he did before.  He’s still a man in need of a saviour, someone to lift him up above his enemies once more.  He’s still in waiting.

But I.

Those two words are a statement of defiance in the face of the evidence.  You seem distant but I know You are near.  It looks like You’ve forgotten me but I know You are faithful and You love me.  My enemies are gloating but I choose to sing and be happy.  Things seem hard now but I choose to remember what You’ve already done for me.

Lord, help me to face up to my circumstances with a strong conviction in who You are and who I am in You.  Life may seem hard at times but I rely on You.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

