Kiffblog

January 2, 2016

I Don’t Believe You

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:11 pm

Genesis 3:4“You won’t die!” the serpent replied to the woman.

The first human sin was believing that You’d lied to them and that they could act against to Your commands with no ill effects.  At heart, all sin is first believing a lie then acting on it.  It’s believing that contrary voice, whether it comes from inside me or from outside.  It doesn’t really matter, You won’t notice, You didn’t really mean it, it doesn’t apply to me, it’s only a small thing, I know better.  And then I act on it.

All sin, any sin, is serious business.  Deadly serious.  It took the death of Jesus to cancel it.

I can choose how I react to that sacrifice.  I take it lightly and drift through life thinking that I can do what I like because it’s already been paid for.  Or I can take sin seriously, knowing how much it cost You and how much it pains You.  When (not if) I act against You, my only right response is to stop, truly apologise, turn the other way and thank You that You didn’t punish me as I deserved.

Lord, I want to believe – help my unbelief.  Help me to kill those thoughts that point me away from You.  Show me how serious sin really is to You.  I want to live a life that pleases You.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

