Kiffblog

January 6, 2016

Right

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 8:06 pm

Genesis 15:6 And Abram believed the lord, and the lord counted him as righteous because of his faith.

The first definition I found of righteous was “Morally upright; without guilt or sin”.  I know that doesn’t sound like me even on my best day.  It’s not really a great description of Abram either.  For all his good points there were plenty of moral failings: lying (particularly passing off his wife as his sister to save himself), doubting, sleeping with his wife’s servant, to name but three.  But You counted him as righteous.  You set the standard, which no-one other than Jesus could reach, and You decide who makes the grade despite their failure.

The only way for me to be righteous in Your eyes is if You see something that covers my guilt and sin.  I can’t do it by trying to be as ‘morally upright’ as possible because I know that will fall far short.  The only thing that can make me right before You is Jesus’ death and my faith that it is enough to wipe out every wrong I’ve ever done and ever will do.

Thank You Lord that You count me as righteous becasue of my faith, not because of my actions.  Let this be the truth that guides my actions and helps me to live right.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

