Kiffblog

January 8, 2016

Keep it short

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 11:08 pm

Matthew 6:7 “When you pray, don’t babble on and on as people of other religions do. They think their prayers are answered merely by repeating their words again and again. 8 Don’t be like them, for your Father knows exactly what you need even before you ask him!

I find prayer a struggle most of the time.  I find my mind wandering after a few minutes.  I have an expectation of how long a prayer time should be and then can’t quite keep my focus for the whole time.  Maybe it’s just that I’m doing it wrong.  Jesus takes the pressure off with his instructions here – don’t babble, keep it short.  You’re not impressed by duration.  The model prayer that Jesus went on to demonstrate covers so much in so few words.

Perhaps I need to be less concerned with the length of time spent praying as with the frequency and content.

Thank You Lord that You know what I need already.  I’m glad I don’t need a lengthy monologue to get through to You.  Keep me quick to talk to You and quick to finish!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

