Kiffblog

January 11, 2016

Not that smart

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:37 pm

Proverbs 3:7 Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead, fear the lord and turn away from evil.

I’m not sure whether I’m impressed with my own wisdom, but I do like to know things.  I’m certainly guilty of being impressed with my own knowledge sometimes.  Most of the time it’s knowing things that are of no real importance.  Such knowledge doesn’t serve any great purpose other than to interest me at best, or to make me feel cleverer than others at worst.

It certainly doesn’t impress You.  I can’t know anything that You haven’t always known.  Even if take that knowledge and apply it in a way that could be seen as wise, it’s nothing compared to You.  There’s nothing I could do that impresses You – Jesus has already done it.  I’m really not that smart.  So how should I live?  “Fear the lord and turn away from evil”.  Just like all true wisdom, it’s simple enough to understand immediately and deep enough to take a lifetime to truly work it out and live it out.

Lord, keep my eyes on You, the one who knows everything and is the very definition of wisdom.  Help me to live humbly before You and follow Your ways.  That is greater than any wisdom of my own.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

