Kiffblog

January 12, 2016

Added bonus

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 10:01 pm

Proverbs 3:9 Honor the lord with your wealth; and with the best part of everything you produce.  10 Then he will fill your barns with grain, and your vats will overflow with good wine.

It’s possible to do the right thing with the wrong motivation.  I can see how these verses could prompt someone to give to You so that they get more back in return.  Giving to You is the right thing, doing it to get rich is the wrong aim.

The biggest reason I can think of to give You the best part of what I produce is that it’s a small fraction of what You’ve given me.  You deserve it.  You gave me the means to earn it.  Being generous is good for me.  And if that wasn’t enough, it’s all Yours anyway and You are gracious enough to let me use it.  To receive more back in return?  That’s an added bonus and yet another example of undeserved favour.  It’s certainly not the reason to give.

Thank You Lord that I can never outgive You.  Thank You for entrusting me with some of Your wealth.  I always want to use it in the right way for the right reasons.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

