Kiffblog

January 23, 2016

Wrong rules

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:11 pm

Matthew 15:2 “Why do your disciples disobey our age-old tradition? For they ignore our tradition of ceremonial hand washing before they eat.” 3 Jesus replied, “And why do you, by your traditions, violate the direct commandments of God?

Jesus had such a great way with the Pharisees.  They would usually come at him with a trick question or an accusation and leave angry, embarrassed, maybe a bit humbler if their heart was open, but never victorious.  This particular case is a great example and a stern lesson.  The Pharisees came at Jesus to argue about tradition and left with a rebuke about their behaviour towards You.  They objected to the disciples not following their rules (note: their rules, not Yours), while systematically breaking Your commandments.

There are two challenges in this to me.  Firstly, I should check myself when I start to criticise someone else for not doing things the way I do them.  Much of the time it’s just a matter of my own traditions and preferences, not something I should force on others.  Secondly, I should always check those traditions and preferences against Your direct words, even if I think I’m doing them for You.  It’s easy to drift over time and end up somewhere I never intended.

Lord keep my eyes fixed on You first and my own life second.  Give me tolerance of others within the limits of Your law and help me to live as an example, not a critic.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

