Kiffblog

February 16, 2016

Isolated

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 7:49 pm

Mark 1:35 Before daybreak the next morning, Jesus got up and went out to an isolated place to pray.

I’ve been reminded again this week of the need for time alone with You.  It’s clearly something I need to keep hearing until I really get down to doing it.  I don’t know why I think I can get through the day without stopping to talk to You properly, when Jesus made a point of doing it.  It wasn’t convenient for him – he had to wake up early enough that it was still dark.  I just checked and that meant that even in the darkness of winter, due to the location of Jerusalem, that wouldn’t have been any later than 06:40.  He also had to get up and walk to somewhere isolated, where he could be truly alone.  Sometimes I read that he had to go up a mountain to find that solitude.  Short version: this took effort.

For something requiring that much effort, where other people probably thought “how does he do that?”, it has to be:

  • Regular – the most arduous task becomes less so through repetition.  When it gets embedded into the daily routine it becomes less of a big deal.
  • Worth it – there have to be benefits that can be felt.  Effort with no reward leads to discouragement and failure.

I can easily draw a parallel to running, probably because that’s something I do before daybreak.  It was hard at first, it took a change in my daily habits, and I had to press through when it seemed like I wasn’t making progress at first.  Now it’s just part of every day and I’ve seen the improvements keep coming.

Lord, remind me of these principles when I want to give up.  Give me the steadfastness to stick with it and grow closer and closer to You.

1 Comment »

  1. Sharing in your prayer…I too struggle with steadfastness in this area.

    Comment by shanfield94 — February 21, 2016 @ 11:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

