Kiffblog

June 7, 2010

Mirror

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 11:04 pm

James 1:23 For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror.24 For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like.

When I look in the mirror I see things as they really are.  Most of the time I can spot something I don’t like.  I have three choices: do something about it; go away and forget it until I next look in the mirror; or stop looking in the mirror.

When it comes to the Bible my default setting is probably option number two as described in verse 24.  I’m challenged by something I read, I think about it, I may even write it down, then I forget until the next time I read it.  I’m never going to stop reading the Bible just because I don’t like what it says about me – those are the times when I know I really should be reading and paying attention.  The choice for me is simple: act or forget.  Help me Lord to act on what the mirror shows me before I look in it again.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.