Kiffblog

December 4, 2012

Who to listen to

Filed under: Uncategorized — andykiff @ 6:50 pm

1 John 3:20 for whenever our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and he knows everything.

“Listen to your heart” – one of the more stupid pieces of advice that gets thrown around.  It assumes that my heart, i.e. my own desires, is the best guide for my life and will always lead to the best results for me.

Jeremiah 17:9 The heart is deceitful above all things,
and desperately sick;
who can understand it?

That sounds more like it.  If I followed my heart all the time I’d be in all sorts of trouble.  I’d end up hurting other people, hurting You and even hurting myself.  If I listened to my heart I’d be convinced that there’s no hope for me, that I’m a failure, that I’ll never be good enough.  That’s why I need to choose who to listen to, and to choose You.  As the verse says, You are greater than my heart and You know everything.

I choose to listen to You, to the truth.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.